Friday Thought

That friend of mine Julian sent me a great set of adverts we don’t see anymore. I thought I’d share them with you over the next few weeks.

The first is this one advertising the benefits of Cola.

Now there is no mention of the company although if you look closely at the top of the bottle there is a familiar name appearing. The text tells you that drinking ‘soda and other sugary carbonated beverages’ will help teenagers fit in with their peers so you’d do well you get them started early! It will boost personality and promote an active life style.

Interesting thought that what a baby drinks will affect their teen years. I suppose there is some truth in it. They are not likely to have good teeth and be hyper active!

Thoughts? 

10 thoughts on “Friday Thought

  1. It was about this time that here in the UK, the BBC documentary called Seven Up was produced. The concept of the show was to monitor the same children every 7 years, (the latest one was produced earlier this year). The rationale was “Give me the child until he is 7 & I will show you the man” using the belief that foundations for our adult years are defined between 0 – 7 years. Interesting debate.

  2. Interesting! If you go to the link I provided, you’ll see that this ad looks as though it comes from the 1930’s or 1940’s. I thought I’d check on that to see if the parents back then were getting their kids addicted to cocaine or caffeine. Though neither is prefferable, it turns out that under pressure of the AFDA Cocacola took cocaine out of their formula in 1913 and replaced it with caffeine. Thanks Julia, I love posts that get me into research mode. http://www.vintageadbrowser.com/coke-ads

I love it when you comment!

