A Passing Moment

It’s THAT time of the year when you set off with the best of intentions to remain calm. You have a list of ‘I would like these’ and some idea, albeit fleeting, of where they might be found.

The queues are not too bad. The stores seem to have realised that by putting more assistants at the tills, shoppers will stay happy and may buy more. I’m very lucky with hubby. He usually asks for replacements of the things he asked for last year (socks, after shave, an occasional jumper) plus I buy bits through the year, so it doesn’t take that long to get to a finishing point.

We had arranged to meet each other ‘by the fountain’. This can be found at the centre of our shopping mall, creatively named ‘The Mall’! Although I was quite early to meeting time, I decided to take the chance to sit and watch the world. I was joined by a woman with a camera  She explained that her other half was singing in the choir upstairs so was taking the chance to get some photos.

Not to be out-done, I took out my phone and took this. It is not as good as hers I’m sure but the whole incident did remind me of William Henry Davies poem ‘ Time to Stand and Stare’. We do rush around so much, particularly at this time of year and miss the things that are right in front of us.

Before my interlude with the camera lady, a little lad was stood watching the water fall you can see at the bottom of the picture. He was clearly taking great delight in watching the water tumble continuously and was lost in his own world.

I think I will make this my one and only resolution – to stop and look. That way, I may get some more thought provoking, passing moments with strangers

10 thoughts on “A Passing Moment

I love it when you comment!

