100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups – Week #33

The ‘100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups’ is a weekly creative writing frenzy! I give you a prompt and you, using only 100 words, write a piece to share with the world. If this is your first time here, please read ‘What is 100WCGU?’  Hopefully it will answer any questions you have but if not do get in touch.

Now for this week’s prompt I was tempted to give you the same picture as the youngsters, over at 100WC but some of them are so good I wouldn’t want you ‘magpie-ing’ their ideas! So I give you your own picture although it is along similar lines.

It was taken at the Eden Project in Cornwall, SW England and is one of a few really amazing sculptures using recycled items. Do go & visit if you have a chance. It is a truly uplifting, mind-blowing place!

The link is open until 12th March

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list. I will move the entries back to this page asap!

  1. Driftwood – Blog Up North
  2. A Lesson Written in Stone
  3. Wooden Horse
  4. The Wooden Horse Beastie
  5. The Traveller
  6. The Driftwood Horse
  7. Eden Horse
  8. A Shadow
  9. Foggy Night
  10. Knowing More or Less – Playing with Ponies
  11. Mike & Mitch – writetuit
  12. Earth Magic
  13. Materialistic Affection
  14. Always look a gift horse…
  15. Crafting his heart – (Tale Spinning)
  16. Decisions
  17. Seahorse
  18. Horsepower – Maris World
  19. Flotsam & Jetsam – jfb57
  20. Eye of the Beholder
  21. Come play
  22. Good Bones
  23. Horse Number 36
  24. Treasure Lost
  25. Not Drowning just Drinking – Bod For Tea
  26. No Nightmare
  27. Redemption
  28. Diabetic Redemption
  29. I Believe
  30. The Grass is Greener
  31. The Sea Horse
  32. Busman’s Holiday – Dancing
  33. Fragility
  34. Favourite of the Masses, Master of the Grasses
  35. A Horse
  36. Anglers Rest
  37. Limebird Writers
  38. New Mum Online
  39. Full Moon – ablogdog.com
  40. An Orse
  41. Fragments from Fireflyphil
  42. A Special Child

39 thoughts on “100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups – Week #33

  1. One look at that picture and my mind produced one word – thestral.

    Thinking on it (as opposed to reacting), I realize that it’s missing the requisite wings, etc.

    I must have Harry Potter on my mind. I should go reread them.

  2. If nothing else, the Scones at the Eden Project are worth going for. One fed the whole family last year.

    Anyway… the Eden Project is actually in Cornwall. I know this because you cross the Tamar Bridge to get there from South Devon!

  3. Pingback: 100 Word Challenge for grown Ups Week #33 | Lucid Gypsy

  4. Pingback: A lesson written in stone | The odd ramblings of a mind that does not quite fit

  5. Pingback: Foggy Night « Fiction Leigh

  6. Pingback: 100 Word Challenge – Sculpture « write tuit

  7. Pingback: Earth Magic (100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups) « Woman Wielding Words

  8. Pingback: 100 word assignments – WEEK 33 | Welcome to the Ventahl Theatre

  9. Pingback: Crafting His Heart (100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups) « Tale Spinning

  10. Not had a picture yet and fantasy isn’t my style. OK – so that’s why it’s a challenge. Hopefully I’ll find a solution……

  11. Pingback: Beauty Is In The Eye Of The Beholder - 100 Words | HerMelness Speaks

  12. Pingback: Good bones « Pen 'n' Tonic

  13. This was such an interesting prompt! Using a visual without any words was actually pretty challenging, for me. But it’s been great to see the diversity of the responses!

  14. Pingback: Horse Number 36 | sjbwriting

  15. Pingback: 100-Word Challenge: No Nightmare | Even More BonusParts!

  16. Hi, Julia, I entered my URL on the Linky. However, just before I did, I tried to delete a letter from my Blog Name, and instead came up with cEdemption. I tried to erase it, but couldn’t. HELP!!!

  17. Pingback: 100 Word Challenge, Day 1 | The Corn Field

  18. Pingback: 100 Word Challenge – Picture Prompt | Limebird Writers

  19. Pingback: Not Just Driftwood | Fragments from Firefly Phil

  20. The photograph made me think of ‘War Horse’ (although I have yet to see the film or read the book!) . . . I think a piece relating to horses in WW1 could fit. I am not sure that I would do the subject area true justice, but thought I would share the idea that came to mind . . .

  21. Pingback: 100 word assignment – WEEK 34 | Welcome to the Ventahl Theatre

  22. Pingback: 100 Word Challenge – Sculpture « in tuit

  23. Pingback: A Special Child | Lynda's Blog

  24. Pingback: 100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups Week#33 – Dughall's stuff

  25. Pingback: Night Mare | Mental Gymnastics

  26. Pingback: 100 Word Count Challenge – Week 33

  27. Pingback: Full Moon | Stray Thoughts

I love it when you comment!