100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups – Week #39

Fair writers plying your craft here with me

I bow to your imaginations shown

The words, ideas and creativity

Are ere too much for one sonnet alone

The stories that you regaled on this space

Were of battles glorious and victory bought

Of George the hero who did the dragon face

Whilst maidens did look on for  love so sought

The Bard who was the other fellow too

Was here in some respect of prose as well

The rhymes and rhythms of his pen we knew

Would seek us out way beyond  the school bell

My thanks I give to all who did take part

My admiration to all comes from the heart!

If you are new who and feel you have wondered into a very strange place please look at WEEK#38 where hopefully all will be explained!

After last week, I need the equivalent of a lie down in a dark room so hopefully you will not cringe at this very straight forward prompt.

….I’m exhausted. Shut the door behind you….

So, to remind you of the rules you have an additional 100 words to complete your piece making 107 in total. Please make sure it is suitable for a PG certificate and please visit the other entries as that is where we can get ideas as well as support and challenge each other.

If you need to be reminded of what this nonsense is all about please read ‘What Is 100WCGU?’ Leave a comment below if you are still unsure.

The link will close at midnight on 30th April 

Click here to enter your link which will take you to another page. I will transfer the links back here as soon as possible.

  1. Wake Up Sleepy Head
  2. Caring
  3. In a Muddle
  4. An de walls came tumblin down
  5. Anglers Rest
  6. I’m exhausted
  7. A Boys Question
  8. Cheater
  9. Hope
  10. The End
  11. Guilty Parenting
  12. Imperial Leather
  13. Every Fiction Tells a Story
  14. Home Repairs
  15. These nights Won’t Last
  16. Those Who Fail
  17. It’s What I’m Here For
  18. Fugitive Magic
  19. Shattered
  20. Very Odd Village
  21. Deserved
  22. Call To Duty
  23. Bod For Tea
  24. After School
  25. The Rat Race
  26. The Man with the Broken Art
  27. Exhausted
  28. …still courting …
  29. How Dare She? 
  30. Limebird Writers
  31. In the Arms of an Angel
  32. It’s Not Just Kids
  33. Heads will roll
  34. Fragments from Fireflyphil
  35. Four Generations
  36. Act III Final Scene
  37. Prosingon
  38. Tough Times
  39. That Was The Week That Was
  40. Late night Out
  41. I’m So Tired

39 thoughts on “100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups – Week #39

  1. What a fabulous piece of poetry from you Julia! Last week was certainly a challenge bit it was fun to see what everyone did with it. Happy to be back to a more straight forward prompt this week though!

  2. I love your sonnet, Julia! I wish I had been able to participate last week – and not yet sure of this week, though I’m intrigued by the prompt – will give it a try if I can. And now that I’ve read your sonnet, I really want to find time to go read a few of the others.

  3. Pingback: Laugh Don’t Cry | sjbwriting

  4. Pingback: 100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups « Real Life Fantasies

  5. Pingback: 100-Word Challenge: These Nights Won’t Last | Even More BonusParts!

  6. A friend told me about this place last week, and although I loved the idea immediately – what a great way to practise writing economically – as there’s no way I can write a sonnet I waited until this week to submit my first 100WC…

  7. Pingback: 100 word assignment – WEEK 39 | Welcome to the Ventahl Theatre

  8. Pingback: Very odd Village (a Very odd V post) | The odd ramblings of a mind that does not quite fit

  9. Pingback: 100-Word Challenge for Grown Ups | Diabetic Redemption

  10. Pingback: The Man With the Broken Art « Jonesin' After 40

  11. Love the challenges Julia! Had a bit of trouble linking up and then it went through twice. Sorry!! Please delete one of them. 🙂

  12. Pingback: Write. Then Write More. » Blog Archive » Exhausted

  13. Pingback: 100 Word Challenge – “I’m exhausted. Shut the door behind you” | Limebird Writers

  14. Pingback: In the Arms of an Angel – 100 Word Challenge | J. Keller Ford, Young Adult Author

  15. Pingback: I’m Exhausted | Fragments from Firefly Phil

  16. Pingback: ‘Late Night Out’ – 100 Word Story | Short Stories

  17. Pingback: 100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups – Week #40 | Julia's Place

  18. Pingback: 100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups Week #40 : Autumn’s Birthday Present Surprise « Hurtled to 60 and Now Beyond…

  19. Pingback: The End | Lynda's Blog

  20. Pingback: 100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups Week#39 – Dughall's stuff

I love it when you comment!