Links of Love

The letter is ‘L’ this week for Alphabe Thursday. My recent visit to Paris showed me a new phenomenon and it fits beautifully with ‘L’

Those of you who know Paris will remember it has many bridges crossing the Seine. They are now covered in locks. No – I don’t mean the locks like you get on a canal. I mean locks that you use to secure something. There are all sorts of sizes and colours. Some of them have writing on them and they are all locked with no keys.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I have decided that they are tokens of love and gratitude from one person to another. They are there locked forever as a sign of real devotion. I think it is a super idea!

Have you seen anything similar where you are? 

Do pop over to Jenny Matlock’s fabulous blog to see more ‘L’ posts!

27 thoughts on “Links of Love

  1. I have never seen anything quite like this. I think your thought on this is a good one. Wish it would spread around the world. Love the photos.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  2. I believe I read that lovers are trying to do the same on some NYC bridges but the city won’t allow it and cut them off. It is a romantic gesture though, isn’t it?

  3. I haven’t heard of this, but I can imagine all the young lovers making a little trip to the bridge to lock their hearts together.

  4. Hi Julia! I saw a lovely post about these a while ago from Lucy Dodsworth (www.ontheluce.wordpress.com) while she was living in Paris (lucky soul) and I believe there’s a “lovers bridge” in Budapest too. Nice romantic idea, isn’t it?

  5. It is a super idea, and I’d put one there. I have seen a tree outside of a church where we could tie a note to the tree in hope, or prayer or wish…. and we have a very treasured tree along one of our neighborhood lakes that has a little elf that lives inside (no one has ever seen the elf) but if you leave a note inside and come back later…there will be an answers! Or you can just leave little notes of love or links to another just like above!

  6. This is so interesting! I really like this different post! I would love to visit Paris! I am so happy I came over and hope you will visit me too. Take care and enjoy the week! Anne

I love it when you comment!