100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups – Week #37

Last week we started with a plea from someone who was having problems commenting. Here is a response
As a blogspotter I am sorry to read the WordPress comment appeal.  However, you are not alone!
The problems of commenting are universal! I find it almost impossible to comment on WordPress blogs. Time and time again when I press ‘publish’  my comment disappears without trace or is instantly binned as spam.  SO frustrating do I find this, that I have almost given up either commenting or trying to enter WordPress based challenges – ie the WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge, on which I am UNABLE to post my link. This is a shame.  It has also posed a problem on the school 100WC. My comments are only recognised if a comment I have left is fished out of the spam bin and ‘instated’ in the comments column. Thereafter, generally, I have been ‘recognised’ on that particular blog and my comments ‘allowed’ to appear.
I don’t know how to overcome this problem – people don’t look in their spam bins and are unaware that someone has tried to leave a comment.. Sometimes I leave comments via Facebook, but it’s annoying that leaving a comment isn’t a simple business.
I wish Blogspot and WordPress would talk to each other and sort this out. I have left comments on the Blogspot forum, and beg WordPress users to do likewise (you are missing out on lots of comments at the moment!), or send an email to WordPress if you are lucky enough to have contact details.
There seem to have been a lot of additional problems commenting recently. WHAT IS GOING ON?!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I thoroughly enjoyed all your Alice adventures as I have at last got back into my commenting groove. Some of you had read the instructions that included a hint for this week.Others did not and will find this week – well fun!
The prompt this week is to go back to last week’s entries. You are to use the last 10 words of the post next to yours and using just 100 words create a story. It may be a follow-on from the previous one or you may like to take it in a different direction. So:
  1. You find your entry HERE
  2. You go to the next entry (if you were 6 you go to 7 etc)
  3. Using the last ten words as the prompt you write your piece. The prompt can be anywhere in the piece but must be complete as it was in the original.
  4. If you didn’t take part last week, choose any entry to use the last 10 words from.

The link will stay open for two weeks and will close on 16th April. As you have more time, if you would like to do more than one piece feel free to choose another entry to do.

If you are new here read ‘What is 100WCGU?’ Hopefully it will answer any questions but do get in touch if you need some answers.

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list. I will transfer it back to this page as soon as possible.

  1. Breathe
  2. Welcome back Old Friend
  3. Being Dumped
  4. Alice Returns (2) -ablogdog
  5. A Sly Grin
  6. Lost in the Mist
  7. Autumn Returns to Earth 
  8. Such Wonderous Adventures
  9. Mrs Teepot
  10. Time to Forgive
  11. …a rustling of leaves
  12. Devil’s Advocate
  13. Growing Table – Lucid Gypsy 
  14. Alice’s Land of Wonder
  15. The Nightmare Continues & Movie Date
  16. Someone Else’s Last Words
  17. It’s Not Alright
  18. The Nursery Blinds
  19. Finally
  20.  Fluffy Tabby Kittens
  21. Easter Emergency – ablogdog
  22. Susan K Mann
  23. Limebird Writers
  24. Lost Treasures
  25. Scent to Hell
  26. Harry Potter Again
  27. Alice and the King
  28. Handsome & Tall
  29. Alice Has a Surprise
  30. Adventure
  31. Is it Harry who is falling now? 
  32. Daddy’s Girl
  33. The Follies of Dainty-Dilly-Dallyiness
  34. Fragments from Fireflyphil

40 thoughts on “100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups – Week #37

  1. I’m a WordPress blogger and I will drop a note to wordpress. I learned early on that a lot of the comments from other blog sites get stuck in spam so I check the spam list every day or two and move the comments where they belong. I say heads up to other wordpress folks that you need to check the spam — and please complain to WordPress.

    • I agree about the Spam blocker. WordPress is pretty good at filtering, but I have – once or twice (one nice thing about being a small blog is that you tend to get ignored by the ‘bots!) – noticed a genuine comment being filtered out as spam. Checking the logs will legitimise that particular commenter for the future, at least so far as I’ve found.

      I’ll also mention to WordPress.

      By the way, I have a Google/Blogger account, as well. If you have a Gmail/Google account, you should be able to comment, at least at Blogger, using the OpenID function.

      Good luck commenting!

  2. I love the randomness of this prompt. 🙂

    As to your difficulties, it seems you have been tagged as spam along the way and so WordPress keeps assuming. If I’m correct, they need to remove you from a spam list they would have. Not certain though as I don’t know how they work. I’ve now joined so many apps/blogs in order to comment and still occasionally hit a snag. Hope they work it out.

    I also adjusted my entry so it included the full prompt. I had quickly noted down the prompt for last week in order to work on it later but must have paraphrased. The story is the same. Only a few words have been altered to fit the full prompt and protect the guilty, me. Mea culpa. 🙂

    @RossMannell

  3. To the lovely commenter up there in red – I love comments and do try to sift through the spam that I get (for every 100 I think I get 1 proper comment if I’m lucky). If you could comment on my blog then I will make sure you’re there and it accepts automatically. I had one today that looked genuine until I read the whole comment and realised it was too uniform to actually be about the post. It commented about music artists but the commenter didn’t once mention the bands name etc. if you still have trouble let me know – I know it sometimes can be buggy an often just needs a firm kick in the bottom.

    Have a great easter one and all 🙂

  4. I have a google account and host my blog at blogpress. I also have a wordpress account, which probably makes things a bit easier. I do not have problems reading or posting to wordpress blogs and comments seem to appear OK. I have word verification off (if you find I do not please let me know). I do every day check the comments filter on Blog in case a post has been placed in hold because thought of as spam.

  5. I don’t have any problems leaving or receiving comments on WordPress, but sometimes leaving them on Blogger can be a total NIGHTMARE. The word verification thing NEVER works and is a complete pain in the neck.

    As for WordPress, I have my settings set that when a “new” person leaves a comment I have to moderate it but when they come to leave a comment subsequently, it is automatically moderated and published straight away. I do check my spam filter and have to say that WP do a magnificent job of weeding out the spammers from the “awaiting moderation” comments. I think so far I have only had one comment that was mistaken as spam when it was from a genuine blogger, which is great.

    WordPress all the way for me!

  6. Thanks for posting that, Julia. Hope it helps. It is all so frustrating. Even more frustrating, I have already tried to leave this comment once, so maybe it’s in your spam bin!
    Commenting ought to be much easier, really!
    I’ll now try and leave this via Facebook

    By the way, the links I included in the last para of my comment which you have posted in red haven’t transferred, so if you can’t find them to include, maybe just delete the last para.
    Thanks

    Writing from the Edge
    http://lorely-writingfromtheedge.blogspot.com/2012/04/pussy-footing-round-problem.html

  7. I have a wordpress account but I find I cn not comment on blogspot accounts! Is there some kind of conspiracy as it is usually the captcha code that stops me as it will not accpet whatever I put in!

  8. Pingback: Magical flight « Fiction Leigh

  9. Pingback: 100-Word Challenge: Such Wondrous Adventures | Even More BonusParts!

  10. Until the problem is sorted out, I guess the only thing we can do is to go and mark them as «Not spam»..

    Now I see what the Team100WC is 😀

  11. Pingback: Time to Forgive? (100 WCGU) « Woman Wielding Words

  12. Pingback: 100 word assignment – WEEK 37 | Welcome to the Ventahl Theatre

  13. Pingback: 100 Word Challenge For Grown Ups # 37 | Lucid Gypsy

  14. Pingback: Alice’s Land of Wonder (pt. 2) « Michaelsfishbowl

  15. That was a little more difficult than week one. I don’t think I like using other people’s 10 words! 🙂

  16. Pingback: The Nightmare continues & Movie Date « Irene's Words

  17. Pingback: Breathe (A “B” post) | The odd ramblings of a mind that does not quite fit

  18. Pingback: And the Next Award Goes To … « Hurtled to 60 and Now Beyond…

  19. Hi, first time at this here so I guess I’ll wait for next week (this ones almost over anyhow) since I didn’t have an entry last week so the prompt can’t apply.
    Cheers!

  20. Pingback: 100 Word Challenge – A bit of a change.. | Limebird Writers

  21. Hi, I haven’t been aware of anyone having probs leaving comments on mine til today (thanx @fireflyphil) I have ablogger account, please tweet me @anhalf if mine doesn’t work (mrshalford.blogspot.co.uk nos 27 and 29)

  22. Pingback: Write. Then Write More. » Blog Archive » Adventure

  23. Pingback: Is it Harry Who is Falling Now? : 100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups Week #37 « Hurtled to 60 and Now Beyond…

  24. Pingback: write tuit

  25. Pingback: The Follies of Dainty-Dilly-Dalliness and Mysterious Eggs | MoonLightened Way

  26. Pingback: In Alice’s Honour… | Fragments from Firefly Phil

  27. Pingback: 100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups -Week#38 | Julia's Place

  28. Pingback: Scent to Hell « AnonyMissLily

  29. Pingback: 100WCGU: Daddy’s Girl « in tuit

  30. Pingback: 100 Word Count Challenge 37 – It was all a dream

  31. Pingback: Easter Emergency | Stray Thoughts

  32. Pingback: Alice Returns (2) | Stray Thoughts

I love it when you comment!