100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups – Week #29

Welcome to all our new writers to this silly corner of the blogosphere. It is lovely to see the challenge spreading! I had a wonderful birthday and because I was thoroughly spoilt and whisked away to Paris, I may be a bit late commenting. That is no reason for you all not to go and visit last week’s entries. There are some corkers! WEEK#28

Many thanks to those of you who were kind enough to mention the 100wc.net site which is the children’s version of this challenge. Let’s hope we get more folks commenting on their fabulous work!

Now for this week. There have been songs written about them; poets have poured out their creative juices for them; we organise our lives around them. I’m talking about days of the week. I personally do not like Mondays (cue song ‘Boom town Rats’!) I really like Thursdays I think mainly because they are so near to a Friday. When I was teaching it was the middle of the week that was always odd. If the children were going to be unsettled or the weather bad or a disaster were to happen it was often THAT day.

So the prompt for this week is: ….WEDNESDAY….

As usual you have 100 words and you should include the word Wednesday. If you are new here, please look at ‘What is 100WCGU?’ (I have amended the instructions thanks to a comment from last week!)

Click here to enter the URL of your post. It will take you to another page but I will come back and link it here as soon as possible. It will close at midnight on Monday 6th Feb. Please put a link / mention back to this blog so that folks can read all the other entries. Do go and read each other’s. That’s where the great ideas come from!

  1. Wednesday Morning 3am – Blog Up North
  2. Rivals
  3. Wednesdays Child
  4. A Matter of Perspective
  5. Wednesday
  6. Smile
  7. All would Be Clear on Wednesday – G Sussex
  8. The Day the Little Word was Born – Bod for Tea
  9. But it’s Wednesday! Isn’t it?
  10. Wednesday on the Couch – Discovering Writing
  11. Wednesday…
  12. Wednesday – Susan Writes Precise.
  13. The Scribbles
  14. In the kitchen
  15. Gnome Bureaucracy 
  16. Believe anyway
  17. Meeting the Life Coach – Ronnie Hurtles
  18. My Wednesdays
  19. Benezknees
  20. Left Handed
  21. Ash Wednesday – Darting Dragonfly
  22. Wednesday – Five F’s blog
  23. Derps Dilemma
  24. Writetuit
  25. A Fearful Strength – Hermelness
  26. Lucid Gypsy 
  27. Visitors – cjpalace
  28. Her Name was Wednesday
  29. Wednesday Weeks
  30. Wednesday
  31. What a Strange Language we Speak
  32. What the Mourning Brings – Tale Spinning
  33. Wednesday – mjshorts
  34. Last Diary Entry
  35. Susan K Mann
  36. Ode to Odin
  37. Writing from the Edge
  38. From Granny’s Attic
  39. Wednesday Acrostic Story
  40. Wednesday – Limebird Writers
  41. A Slave to Her Nails
  42. Two Wednesdays – If I Were Brave
  43. Wedunsday
  44. Stood Up – Anglers Rest
  45. Wednesday, Wednesday
  46. Fragments from Fireflyphil
  47. You bought her what ( on a Wednesday!)

38 thoughts on “100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups – Week #29

  1. Pingback: A matter of perspective « Pen 'n' Tonic

  2. I’m not sure how I was supposed to link this – it kept telling me the link was closed for Topic #28, so I thought I would just put it in the comments since this is my first attempt.

    You bought her what

    “You bought her what for her birthday?” Samantha’s eyes looked like they would pop out of her skull as she confronted Kelvin.
    “An electric can opener. You know your mum’s arthritis has been plaguing her this winter and since she decided she was going to all the effort of making Christmas dinner for my family and yours I thought . . .”
    “You do remember this is my mum right? If you don’t include some flowers and a cake I wouldn’t want to be in your shoes tonight! You may never get out of sleeping on the couch!”

      • I can’t find it unless it’s the one about if I’m going to miss the deadline? I have written my entry for this week’s prompt of “Wednesday”, just have to figure out how to link it. Thanks for checking up on me, this is all so new.

    • @benzeknees Go to the top of the post and read the last paragraph. the one right before the current list of entries. The first two words “Click here” are for entry in this week’s challenge. I haven’t tried the link on Week 28’s challenge again. Is it now locked? It probably is because the challenge has moved on to Week 29 now.
      I hope that helps.

  3. Pingback: Wednesday « misadventuresinlamosquitia

  4. Pingback: Gnome Bureaucracy | The odd ramblings of a mind that does not quite fit

  5. Pingback: Meeting the Life Coach – 100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups Week #29 « Hurtled to 60 and Now Beyond…

  6. Pingback: Left-handed | sjbwriting

  7. Pingback: 100 word challenge – Wednesday « write tuit

  8. Pingback: A Fearful Strength - 100 Words | HerMelness Speaks

  9. Pingback: 100 Word Challenge : Week # 29 | Lucid Gypsy

  10. Pingback: Wednesday 100WCGU Week #29 | CJsPalace Blog

  11. Pingback: Wednesday Weeks « Does writing excuse watching?

  12. Pingback: What the Mourning Brings (Variations, in the key of Numb) « Tale Spinning

  13. Pingback: ‘Wednesday’ – 100 Word Story | Short Stories

  14. Pingback: ‘Last Diary Entry – Wednesday 9th November’ – 100WCGU | Short Stories

  15. Pingback: 100 Word Challenge # 29 – Ode to Odin « buddhafulkat

  16. I thought I wasn’t getting the emails from you but I did get the last two…I did a search…first one came up empty, but using this one when it just came in I found that I must have been confused…Me?…sigh. Was off line when having problems, that may have caused a blip to think I’d gone away. Anyway…problem solved. Just don’t know how to do the instructions for the badge…but will follow with interest and write on my own.
    This old lady is just taking too long to figure all this out…but will eventually ☺.
    Peace,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

  17. Pingback: https://jfb57.wordpress.com/2012/01/30/100-word-challenge-for-grown-ups-week-29/ « IsobelandCat's Blog

  18. Pingback: 100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups: Wednesday « IsobelandCat's Blog

  19. Pingback: Around the World in 80 Words « The Blog Up North

  20. Pingback: To the power of seven « Snagglewordz

  21. Pingback: 100 Word Challenge – ‘Wednesday’ | Limebird Writers

  22. Pingback: Gold mine or Scooby Doo campground? You decide | If I Were Brave

  23. Pingback: 100 Word Challenge Week 29–Wednesday, Wednesday | The Mirth of Despair

  24. Pingback: A Platinum Jubilee? | Fragments from Firefly Phil

  25. Pingback: 100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups – Week #30 | Julia's Place

  26. Pingback: HerMelness Spoke: A Month With A View (Feb-2012) | HerMelness Speaks

  27. Pingback: 100 word challenge – Wednesday « in tuit

  28. Pingback: 100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups Week#29 – Dughall's stuff

  29. Pingback: 031: 100 Words Challenge (Week 29) | Hannah Says...

  30. Pingback: 100 Word Count Challenge – Week 29

I love it when you comment!